12 July 2016

MINUTES OF AN EXTRAORDINARY MEETING OF THE COUNCIL held at the Guildhall, Portsmouth on Tuesday, 12 July 2016 at 2.00 pm

Council Members Present

The Right Worshipful The Lord Mayor Councillor David Fuller (in the Chair)

Councillors

Dave Ashmore Hugh Mason Simon Bosher Stephen Morgan Gemma New Jennie Brent Robert New Ryan Brent Alicia Denny Steve Pitt Ben Dowling Stuart Potter John Ferrett Will Purvis Jim Fleming **Darren Sanders** Colin Galloway Lynne Stagg Paul Godier Luke Stubbs Scott Harris Julie Swan Steve Hastings Linda Symes Hannah Hockaday **David Tompkins**

Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE Suzy Horton

Lee Hunt Steve Wemyss Frank Jonas Matthew Winnington

Neill Young Donna Jones Ian Lyon Rob Wood Tom Wood Leo Madden

52. Apologies for Absence

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillor Yahiya Chowdhury and Councillor Ken Ellcome. Councillor Lee Mason sent apologies that he would be slightly late as he was detained on other council business. Councillor Gemma New apologised for having to leave at about 5.00 pm.

The Lord Mayor gave detailed information concerning filming in the chamber. advising that notices had been displayed on the walls concerning the council's rules which strictly prohibit the filming, photographing or recording of members of the public unless they are addressing the meeting and only then if they do not actively object. Filming from gallery to gallery is also prohibited.

The Lord Mayor then gave details of the evacuation procedure and reminded everyone that there are building evacuation signs displayed both inside the public galleries and in the chamber itself.

53. Deputations from the Public under Standing Order No 24

2 12 July 2016

The City Solicitor advised that there were no deputations relating to the business on the agenda of the extraordinary meeting.

54. Admission to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen - Dr Eleanor Scott

The Lord Mayor advised that the motion to admit Dr Eleanor Scott as an honorary alderman will need to be passed by not less than two thirds of the members voting.

It was

Proposed by Councillor Gerald Vernon-Jackson Seconded by Councillor Donna Jones

That the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Dr Eleanor Scott, a former member of the Portsmouth City Council.

The proposer of the motion gave a short speech in support, as did the seconder of the motion, Councillor Donna Jones and the Leader of the Labour group, Councillor John Ferrett.

RESOLVED unanimously that the title of honorary alderman be conferred on Dr Eleanor Scott and that a certificate confirming this decision be presented to her at a future city council meeting.

	O	•	
Lord Mayo	nr .		
Lord May	/ I		

The meeting concluded at 2.12 pm.